Categories
#LETSTALKFASHION

BLONDE GONE ROGUE

Today, the amazing gals from Blonde Gone Rogue have agreed to answer some of my questions! Meet Denitsa, who created the brand with her sister, Gergana. The sustainable fashion brand was founded in 2017, and is 100% transparent. They use upcycling techniques in order to give a second life to quality fabrics and create amazing pieces ! 

Denitsa and Gergana, founders of the brand

How did the brand start?

Blonde Gone Rogue was founded by me and my sister in 2017 when we were both living in Amsterdam. We’d been talking about starting a brand of our own since we were teenagers. I was always interested in fashion and she was in the business, so it was the perfect combination. It took us a few years of self discovery and growth but when we lived in Amsterdam it felt like the right moment to start the brand so this is what we did.

Where does the name of the brand come from?

The name was one of the things that took us the longest to figure out. It was on a trip to Tokyo that we came up with “blonde gone rogue”. We were exploring the neighbourhood of Harajuku that is famous for the style of the creative crowd that hangs out there. As we were walking this guy crossed right in front of us. He had dyed his hair in a very bright neon yellow that immediately draws your attention. The way he had expressed his individuality and creativity really connected with what we wanted to achieve with our brand and that was to give people creative and unique designs through which they can express themselves. Therefore, we thought “blonde gone rogue” summarized our concept quite well and it is a nice recollection of that last trip we took before starting the brand.

How did you get into sustainable fashion?

Growing up in Bulgaria we were always surrounded by nature and we loved it. We would never want to harm the environment or other people with what we do. That said, I only learnt about the devastating impact of the fashion industry in university. It really got me thinking whether I want to be part of this industry. With time I realized that change needed to come from within and that should be my motivation when building a career in fashion and not my reason to stop. This is why sustainability had been a core value for blonde gone rogue from the start.

Is there a particular aspect you wish to protect through sustainability?

I think the issues the industry faces are very much interconnected. I don’t think there is one particular that I find more important than another. We need to work towards ridding the industry of all the issues it creates.

Who are the people that inspire you?

I admire people who are brave, have a cause that they fight for and persevere against the odds. That said, the first name that comes to my mind is Malala Yousafzai.

Where do you see yourself/the brand in 5 years, and what future do you hope for for the fashion industry?

I hope that in 5 years we are going to live in a world that is a lot more sustainable and a lot more considerate. For the brand, I would like to see us as a sustainability leader in the industry. I see us expanding our product range and the markets we operate in.

Do you have any tips and tricks for people who would like to be more responsible but donโ€™t know how?

Educating the customer about the issues and how they can help make the industry more sustainable is actually really important to us. This is why we’ve started a sustainability blog on our website and post every week on different topics. I would recommend having a look for the people who would like to become more conscious consumers. In general my advice is to always be curious. The information is out there, just read on, but also be critical of your sources. Another very important thing is to always ask brands what you need to know about their products and operations. Today this is easier than ever – just use Twitter, Instagram or simply send an e-mail. The brands that care will get back to you.

Any recommendations?

The Redress Design Award‘s website has an amazing “LEARN” section with great educational content and also a list of external resources such as books and movies. I really recommend checking it out. One of my favorite books on sustainability is Eco-Chic โ€“ The Fashion Paradox by Sandy Black. I read it in university and I can say it is a truly interesting read. The True Cost is a very eye-opening movie that I also recommend.

For the ones who would like to take their knowledge to the next level I suggest Fashion and Sustainability: Understanding Luxury Fashion in a Changing World – this is a free online course organised by London College of Fashion and Kering. It provides invaluable information from experts and you can also receive a certificate upon completion.

Thank you so much, Denitsa, for answering my questions! Check them out on blondegonerogue.com ๐Ÿ™‚

X

Leave a comment